We’re Going LONG HAUL

All I want for Christmas is … 24 hours on a plane with a baby!?

Yup. We’re doing it. Leaving on a jet plane and zooming over the oceans and through the timezones to spend Christmas in its ‘proper’ home, the Northern Hemisphere. It’s a cool 28 hours (give or take) door-to-door. I won’t lie when I tell you, I’m NOT looking forward to the journey.

The airline has helpfully declined to guarantee a bassinet. This is particularly excellent, as from what I’ve read, a bassinet is crucial. In light of Little Bun’s recent ‘restlessness’, I am praying we get one … how times change! A few years ago I was dedicating the same energy to wishing for an upgrade. Now, I don’t give a hoot where we’re sitting, as long as my daughter has somewhere to sleep.

Having said that, some babies hate the bassinet and it just becomes another storage unit for toys / nappies / empty vodka bottles (ahem).

Anyone have any first-hand experience of this particular type of travel hell experience? I’ve found a bunch of blogs with helpful tips, so we’ll stock up on changes of clothes and ‘quiet’ toys.

I think the best thing to do is expect the worst, hope for the best.

And hey, it’s only 24 hours, right? Just don’t get me started on dealing with baby jet lag and how that affects sleep patterns … !!!!!

4 thoughts on “We’re Going LONG HAUL

  1. OH BOY. Or girl….

    Not that this is a totally helpful example at all BUT noteworthy in its advice.

    Five hours on a plane with Ky and four of them were spent with Ky screaming bloody murder because I screwed with her nap time. My saving grace hour? A stranger a row behind grabbed her out of my arms and promptly told me she really thought I was close to throwing myself off the plane and to give Ky to her before I lost my mind. So…I did. Yup, totally let the strange lady behind me take my baby.

    Ky then sat there silently playing with her necklace for an hour. SILENTLY. No stranger danger at all. Little monkey.

    Moral of the story is: Let people help. Anyone.

  2. GOOD LUCK!! You will be fine. I went overseas with my mum to England when I was four and half months old and apparently I was so well behaved. Little Bun is all over this šŸ™‚

  3. Good luck! We’re planning a trip to see my husbands family next year when B is 9 months. I am already afraid. I’m looking forward to hearing how it goes and what tips you have. I sat next to a woman travelling to the UK with a baby and the little thing didn’t make a peep. But the mum didn’t get much of a break, I held the baby for her to go to the loo but she was mostly on her own- until her husband visited briefly from business class. I almost died. So she married a dick but her baby came out lovely haha.

Leave a Reply

