The Un-Asked Question

I find, when your bub gets to about six months old, people stop asking;

‘Is she sleeping through the night?’

It’s like it becomes taboo … because, y’know, she should be*. And if she isn’t, well – that’s just awkward for all concerned.

LB is very much NOT sleeping through the night. She is doing the very opposite of that, unlike when she was four, or five months old. I know this, because back then I was optimistically (and, yes, a little smugly) noting it down in my calendar. Scribbly little exclamations in biro ‘Until 7am!’ … ‘Through ’til 7.30!’ popped up three or four times a week for a few months. I was excited – thinking, this is surely IT. She’ll start doing this more and more often, until the nights when she does wake up become the exception. WOooHooo!

But, no – she has slept through only once in over a month. Not only that, a few weeks ago she started waking at 1am and 2am again. I still give her a Dream Feed at 10.30/11pm, so this is clearly not a hunger thing.

When she’s up before 3am, I settle and re-settle until it’s 3:00 and she gets a feed (if I feed her before then, she’ll wake again at 4/5am). If she wakes after 3am, I leave her grizzling for 20 minutes (in the vain hope she’ll go back to sleep – hardey har har), then feed her.

So. Waking at night. Sometime it’s 1am, sometimes it’s 3am, sometimes it’s 4.30am. Either way, when I feed her, she goes right back to sleep until I wake her in the morning.

Why do I feed her at all? Well, she still hasn’t doubled her birthweight so I feel like I should be giving her that overnight feed if she needs (wants?) it. The other reason is we’re heading overseas for Christmas and I really don’t think I’ll be able to handle the stress of sleep training her out of her overnight feeds, while staying in someone else’s home.

People suggest I go to bed at 9pm (or earlier), to get a few hours in before the Dream Feed. But you know what? Those few hours in the evening are the only time when I am ME. I get to sit, enjoy a glass of wine, watch TV, talk to my husband (wow – another ADULT) and generally remind myself who I am. I can’t give that up.

After six months of broken sleep you’d think I’d be OK with it. I mean, she’s a baby right? And a pretty young one at that. Suck it up!

But I actually feel more tired, and less able to cope with the hours – particularly the 1am nights when I have to do two hours of settling and THEN a 45 minute feed. I just feel so drained, and empty – running on zero sleep for so many months. I am really ready to get my nights back.
Zzzzzz …

*Fuck off.

7 thoughts on “The Un-Asked Question

  1. I am so over people who are all my baby sleeps thru the night. Once – that’s all I’ve had of uninterrupted sleep. I don’t have to resettle (yet) but man it’s exhausting!! My sisters kids took 12 months as did my besties. It’s ok you’re not doing anything wrong. It’s normal!

      • Before Molly was reweighed and all 3rd percentile I was totally the same. I remember once hearing her for the third time convinced she wasn’t hungry and put a dummy in her mouth hoping she would sleep. Can Mr Bun give a bottle of EBM? It’s definitely not one of the perks of the job. For Sure.

  2. Your asterisk cracked me up. 😉 Oh, the sleep thing. I wish there was an answer, but I think it’s one of life’s great mysteries. I can only empathize… though my girls are good sleepers now, there were plenty of sleepless nights around here too back in the day.

  3. Alexander is six and a half months old and has never, not once, not EVER slept through the night. On a VERY VERY good night, he sleeps 7pm-6:30 am with a wake up around 3:30. We haven’t had any good nights like that in at least a week.

Leave a Reply

