A Growth Spurt (or, pass the vodka)

I thought Little Bun had been through growth spurts before. I mean, she’s growing the whole time, right? The books say spurts happen at 3, 6 and 10 weeks … and babies always do things by the book, right?

Ho ho. No no. Wrong-diddly-wrong-oh.

Little Bun has had a growth spurt. It started on Thursday when she woke up early for a few naps. But it didn’t really get going until Friday afternoon when she started feeding every two hours. Her normal 5-10 minute super snacks turned into 20 minute mega chowdowns. PER BOOB. With burping and changing and napping this meant I had about 40 minutes downtime until it all started again. And again. And again. For TWO WHOLE DAYS.

By Sunday things were calming down a bit, and she even smashed out one of her epic three hour naps in the afternoon. But I was shattered – a husk of my former self …

I joke, but it’s Tuesday and while feeding less insanely, her routine in shot to pieces and I am feeling pretty burnt out.

And don’t get me started on Arsenic Hour(s). The Spurt seems to have kicked this delightful habit into another, altogether yuckier gear. Screaming on and off from 7.30 until 10, and then grizzly and unsettled until midnight.

Is this normal? Why do I feel things are getting worse from 7 weeks and not better?

And why do I have to do it soooooober!?

5 thoughts on “A Growth Spurt (or, pass the vodka)

  1. Ahhh…one more reason formula was (and still is) great. I had a beer with my 10pm feeding of the baby tonight hehe.

    Growth spurts SUCK!!!! There’s no way around it. I typically don’t blog about motherhood and all it’s glorious ups and downs (mostly I blog about our open adoption) but I do love commenting on other blogs about how much I wanted to fall through the floor and die one some of those endless nights.

    It get’s better. It does – hang in there 🙂

  2. I came here from your comment on my PAIL post, and oh man, this brought me back. The growth spurts, the colic, it all seems so long ago. Given that my baby is only 8 months old, maybe should give you some hope. Ha! I remember 8 to 12 weeks as the worst time. We couldn’t get Mira into sound sleep until around midnight every night because of reflux. It got SO MUCH BETTER, and in retrospect, it went by so very fast.

  3. I agree, six weeks is not the daydream that some lucky women try to make it be. My experience is more along the 12 week mark, count on anything before that and you’re just torturing yourself. I hope you get some sleep soon! I know that it can be horribly draining, and I’ve been known to fall asleep in the rocker, with the baby attached to my breast still nursing! LOL. Good luck!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

