Lists and Superstitions (34w3d)

I’ve just finished writing four lists:

  1. Things to buy for the baby (8 million babygros, singlets, wraps etc etc)
  2. Things to buy for me (padded-housebrick maternity pads, 20 supersize black knickers etc etc)
  3. Things to pack for labour (‘glucose treats’ – lollies? – ginormous nighties etc)
  4. Things to pack for the hospital stay (dressing gown, ‘non-slip bed socks’ … seriously!? etc)

I’ve tried to be brutal in making these, only including what my girlfriends, the eminently sensible prenatal class maternity nurse, and Kaz Cooke say is absolutely necessary. Yet I still have a selection that would make any practical person squirm. How do people keep this megaload to two bags!? Are any of you following a ‘master list’ online? Would you pre-purchase everything, or leave until after the baby is born?

Which brings me to the second half of my post’s title. The Huggies* update was once again right on the money with this week’s update:

“At 34 weeks pregnant, you could worry that there may be something wrong with your baby which hasn’t been detected yet. You may wonder how you and your partner will cope if there is a problem and how this will impact on your life. Many women become very superstitious at this stage of their pregnancy and see “signs” which they interpret as being proof there is something wrong. Dreams, seeing someone with a physical or intellectual impairment, hearing of other new parents who’ve had a baby with problems can all cause great concern.”

This is me to a tee.

As we get closer to the due date, I can’t put off doing some pretty significant baby things any longer. Mr Bun put the cot up today (WOW). I’ve got these aforementioned lists that are going to require some pretty heavy-duty time in the baby shopping department. And I just can’t help but think, ‘what if?’ Is this all tempting fate?

Basically, my superstition radar is going BERKO.

I had a good chat to Dr Spock a few weeks ago about my anxiety around this sort of thing, and her answer was perfectly balanced between the rational (giving me the facts and trying to appease me with odds and stats), and the emotional (gently explaining that this sort of anxiety is normal, and I just have to remove triggers like nasty/depressing/tragic mag articles, news stories etc etc from my life).

Of course, the ongoing movement of the little one is really the only thing that makes me feel calm. But all it takes is one shred of doubt, or one whisper of  story, or one quiet day from the baby, and I find myself panicking that something awful will happen.

In black and white this looks extreme. But I guess that’s one of the roles of this blog. To express how I feel, and in doing so, to lighten the load a little?

It’s also not the full story. The majority of the time I am excited, scared, in awe, uncomfortable and your all-round pretty average first-time-preggy-lady in her last few weeks. It’s just these black spots. I try not to dwell on them. I try to combat them with happy, shiny thoughts.

Here’s to a week ahead filled with those happy, shiny things – for all of us.

 

*While I’ve been subscribed to Baby Center throughout this pregnancy, consistently I’ve found the Huggies updates to be the best: detailed, accurate, helpful and interesting. I was skeptical initially because it was branded, but well done the Huggies marketing team for creating such good content!

3 thoughts on “Lists and Superstitions (34w3d)

  1. I find the huggies updates really interesting. Definitely better with the information and generally spot on to the way I am feeling.

    I have started a list for my hospital bag and then I am updating it with other information.

    Everyone says big black undies are an essential item!! Luckily across the road from the hospital we have a BigW so anything I don’t have I will send Chippie over.

    How’s the nursery tracking?

    I agree on the kicking thing. Whenever I start to worry I go straight for the water and that reassuring flutter, kick what have you makes me feel instantly better. the last few days she hasn’t whalloped me like she normally does but I try not to think about it too much and go for the pink and blue happy thoughts!

    Did you like Kaz Cooke, I must admit I struggled a bit with her flippant attitude!!!

    Not long to go!

    • Yes – big black undies galore! It’s taken being pregnant to break my obsessive habit for B.onds Hipsters … I am now appreciative of the delights of BIG KNICKERS.

      The nursery has its bare bones together – but still needs a LOT of work. It’ll be the project for the next four weeks.

      Have liked the tone of Kaz, it’s been light-hearted at times when I’ve needed it.

      And not long for you either – the countdown’s on. Incredible, really!

      x

  2. Pingback: No going back now … (35w2d) « the bunless oven

Leave a Reply

