Hyster-Fail

A little while ago I mentioned that Dr D had lined me up for a hysteroscopy. And I also mentioned how I was (maybe, for some people, weirdly) looking forward to it.

This tells you two things. I,

a) work too hard – the idea of a ‘day off’ is incredibly tantalising … especially when one of those delicious anesthetics are involved (hello ladies out there who have recently been extolling the virtues of the GA). This is wrong. I am talking about a medical procedure, not a day in a spa

and

b) I am a woman battling infertility for nigh-on three years, and will embrace every ‘treatment’ I can get

So, hysteroscopy booked for this coming Friday. Yay! Bring on the paper undies!

No. NO YAY.

Because my uterus is DEMENTED and SWORN TO THWART ME AT EVERY TURN. I am overdue for my period. A week overdue. A week that has now not only mucked up this cycle, but also seriously screwed the timings of next cycle – when I’m due to do IVF round 5/3.2.

(Yes, I’ve done a pregnancy test. Of course it’s negative. I wasn’t even upset – not one bit – that’s how negative it was).

So, I called Dr D’s offices and one of her receptionists told me in her uber-bitch tone that

‘Youhavetogoforabloodtesttocheckyouarenotpregnantthenwewillcallyou andgofromthere’

They really are SO rude there.

‘Oh. OK. Um, do you mind telling me if (‘if’ … HA!) the test is negative, the procedure will still go ahead on Friday?’

(quick sigh – as i ‘please stop bothering me’) ‘Ifyouarenotpregnantthenwewillcallyouandgofromthere’

I’ve hung out with Dr Google. I know hysteroscopy’s are best performed at the beginning of the cycle. I know tomorrow when I call for my blood test results they’ll cancel my appointment. I know they’ll tell me to go away and call them when my period’s begun.

It’s the not knowing that is the pain. I don’t know when I’ll get my period, so I don’t know when I have the procedure.

Why am I stressing out? I’ve been doing this for years. You think I’d be used to waiting.

Well, my in-laws are arriving from the UK next week. I don’t want to be in hospital or recovering at home when they arrive. Hostess-with-the-mostest-ing doesn’t normally include lying on the couch in your jammies watching junk teeve and mainling chocolate biscuits.

Harrumph.

6 thoughts on “Hyster-Fail

  1. If it is any consolation my hospital didn’t seem to give a toss about when in my cycle I was, so maybe yours won’t anyway. And I am totally with you about being excited about it: day off – check, GA- check, chance of a result – double check.

  2. Urgh! Doesn’t that suck so bad? I had the same drama while waiting for AF to show up so I can get an HSG. The biyatch finally showed up on the day I was supposed to have the appt. Gyno said it was probably stress. Don’t you hate when they do that?

  3. Oh, that sucks so much. Been there, with the 37 day cycle that screwed up the timing for months afterward. Yay! That receptionist sounds like a real winner, too. What a great day you had (not).

  4. Typical… our bodies trying to make this as difficult as possible for us…. when you don’t want the old bitch to turn up she does in all her glory and when you want her to show, she is nowhere to be found….. GRR!!

Leave a Reply

